Friday, February 6, 2009

India- Breaking Night

India —better known as La India in the latin music industry— was born 9 March 1970 as Linda Viera Caballero in Río Piedras, Puerto Rica, but raised in the Bronx, New York City, USA.

Worked as backing vocalist on latin-freestyle artists TKA's track "Come Get My Love" (1986), even featuring on its back cover, when she was 14. Then under the tutelage of producer John "Jellybean" Benitez on a couple of tracks including her track "Dancing On The Fire" (1988) (with co-producer Louie Vega who she had been introduced to in her mid-teens, and would later go on to marry in 1990, though divorce in 1996).

Signing briefly for Reprise Records, who supposedly planned on making her the Latin version of Madonna —Jellbean's other main find earlier in his career— where both Jellybean and Louie Vega produced her album "Breaking Night" (1990).

However, it wasn't until her major involvment in the music business working with Louie Vega and Kenny "Dope" Gonzalez on various projects mainly in the mid-1990's whilst in her twenties, for which she acheived great success. The three tracks of note during this time were as Masters At Work with "I Can't Get No Sleep" (1993), and "To Be In Love" (1997), along with their Nuyorican Soul project track "Runaway" (1997).

Alongside work on latin-house music into the early 2000's, she also became more involved in the more purist latin arena around the late 1990's, and infact on these projects the name La India was generally used.

Whilst moving her career and concentratation into latin music, she built quite a reputation as 'The Princess Of Salsa' garnering three Grammy Award and two Latin Grammy Award nominations. She has collaborated with her godmother Celia Cruz, and many other artists like Marc Anthony, Gloria Estefan and even Tito Puente, releasing several albums of her own.


1. Right from the Start

2. Dancing on the Fire

3. Breaking Night

4. Lover Who Rocks You (All Night)

5. Steppin' Out

6. I've Got a Plan

7. When You Were Mine

8. You Should Be Lovin' Me

9. Send Yourself to Me

10. I'm Through With Love

Download Right Here


Anonymous said...

love this album, still hot after all these years. my favs were im through with love and you should be loving me. hey benz do you have the 12 inch of you should be loving me? i use to have it ,it was only a promo 12. good post

MastrChief07 said...

I still have this. IMO, it's rare. You don't see this anymore. Maybe bootleg if you're lucky. Classic great Freestyle right here.

benz said...

naw sk i dont have the 12" but let me see what i can do!!